Coming into contact with “fashion”

img_6871My first memory of fashion, or at least what seemed to be fashion based on my surroundings, was this popsicle-orange and white striped, short sleeved collared shirt that I’d bought from Aero in the 5th or 6th grade. I wore it with a pair of beige cargo capri pants that had ties on the end, my hair in a big ass bun, and braces glued to teeth my face hadn’t grown into yet. I’m positive that any reasonable person that passed my prepubescent self winced at the site of my ensemble, but I marched through my surrounding mall like I was Kate Moss herself.

In the subsequent years after my first moment of contact with what I thought was the fashion world, I’ve learned that clothing and style was a form of art, a means to express oneself to the universe without uttering a single explanation. My own style fluctuated from pink and plaid preppy, to my own rendition of 7th grade emo, to skater girl, to boho princess, to minimalist French designer. Clothing always represented a specific phase of my life and reflected some of the trends over the years.

I’m not sure if my own style now, which is a conglomeration of comfortable, edgy, and hip- as told so by my peers, is the textbook definition of ‘fashionable’, but that’s something that I’m totally at peace with. Obviously, clothing is a way to show yourself off to the world, and whether we like it or not, people will base their initial judgements off of what we wear and how we wear it. Unfortunately, many people take this idea to heart and feel discouraged from what they want to wear, causing them to dress more congruent to what they’re expected to wear, what’s acceptable. But I don’t think that’s fair, and quite frankly, I find it boring.

So this year, in 2017, I plan on going further outside my comfort zone than I already am, and I encourage all of you to do so as well. Wear what you want, and if someone is truly not going to want to get to know you based off of what you’re wearing, then fuck it, they’re not worth it. Go out there, be creative, and be yourself. Don’t let fashion hold you back.

Some 2017 RESOLUTIONS!!!!!!

  • More glitter
  • Crop tops
  • Better pics on blog
  • Consistency
  • Wearing more funky hats
  • Looking not like a slob in class?
  • Looking like a slob in class but not feeling self conscious
  • Err…squats
  • Jk no squats
  • Be funky
2 thoughts on “Coming into contact with “fashion”

Leave a Reply

